Our Favorite So Far

Oscar

image13

La Fin Du Monde Canadian Beer

Clemente

image14

Tiger from Singapore!

How we Rate

We use a 5 point scale and consider a few things: 

Presentation - Bottle, label, does it look good

Pour: Head, crisp, color.

Aroma: First impressions.

Flavor: Bitter, sweet, hoppy, malty.

Overall: How it all comes together. 

Brew of the Week Ratings for November 2018

Singha Thailand Beer

image15

 

November 13, 2018. Drank for Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead.


Clemente: 3 out 5 because it was really light, but had a nice bottle.


Oscar: 3 out of 5 it was light and very easy to drink. Had a very subtle sweet taste for me, and I did not like that.

Red Horse Philippines Beer

image16

 

November 20, 2018. Drank for ThanksKilling.


Edgar  (Guest): 3 out of 5. It actually had a much better taste than what I  expected. It had the combination of malt liquor and a lager which did  cause a unique blend to be lightly bitter, but still good. The  advertised 8% isn't too bad either if you're looking to get the job  done.


Oscar: 4 out of 5 it has a nice taste. It is a strong beer without a strong taste. Easy to drink. 

Lucky Buddah China Beer

image17

 

November 27, 2018. Drank for ThanksKilling 3.


Clemente:  2.5 out of 5 the bottle is nice, but not a fan of the green bottle funk  after taste that is common in some imports, but that's just  preference. 


Oscar: 3 out of 5 very light, nice, and easy to drink, but has an after taste I did not like. Brownie points for the bottle though!

Brew of the Week Ratings for December 2018

Taj Mahal India Beer

image18

December 4, 2018. Drank for The Dawnseeker.
 

Clemente: 2.5 out of 5 bottle was very average in respects to the name. just showing the Taj Mahal, i get it, but could've been better. An American style lager that reminds me of the king of beers, but has a surprisingly smooth and crisp taste.
 

Oscar: 3 out of 5 a light beer pretty simple Lager. Easy to drink. Nothing special about it.

Tiger Singapore Beer

image19

December 11, 2018. Drank for Silent Night, Deadly Night.


Clemente:  3 out of 5. Reminded me of a light brown ale and easy to drink. Seems like it would pair well with food. Wasn't bitter or hoppy. It had a nice mellow taste. 


Oscar: 2 out of 5 a beer with a unique taste and smell. It wasn't bad. I could drink it, but would not go out of my way to get it. Label was cool. It had a strange taste to me that I can't describe. 

Sumpin' Easy USA Beer

image20

December 18, 2018. Drank for Santa Jaws.


Clemente: 3.5 out of 5. Lagunitas is something easy to drink. Very mild hops and easy to drink. Clear lightly carbonated beer that is crisp and refreshing.


Oscar: 2.5 out of 5. It was a little too bitter for me. It did have a refreshing feel, but the bitterness was too overpowering for me. 

Duchesse Cherry Belgium Beer

image21

December 25. 2018. Drank for Santa's Slay.


Duchesse Cherry 6.8% ABV. Sour Cherry Ale Brewed by Brouwerij Verhaeghe Belgium.


Clemente: 1.75 out of 5. Beer came in a brown bottle with a portrait of a duchesse. Cherry sour with a sour, tart, and fruity profile. Carbonated very lightly and light. Not one of the preferred drinks. Too sour for my own liking, just not my thing.


Oscar: 3 out of 5. The bottle had a nice label I liked the colors used. The beer itself was sour. I do like sours and this one wasn't bad.  I have to dock some point because as it got a bit warm the taste took a dive. If you drink this real cold I think it is great. 

Brew of the Week Ratings. January 2019.

La Fin Du Monde Canadian Beer

image22

January 1, 2019. Drank for Sorceress.


Clemente: 4 out 5. For high percent beer it wasn't hoppy. It was like a Heffenweisen, but it wasn't as heavy as an unfiltered beer. Smooth drink for a 9% beer.


Oscar: 3.5 out of 5. I did not like the initial taste of it. Was drinking it cold, but it just tasted to bitter or something just did not taste good. As it sat and reached room temperature it got way better. Probably one of the better beers we have had, but had to dock points for the initial taste. 

Smithwicks Irish Beer

image23

January 22, 2019. Drank for Witchcraft.


Clemente: 3.5 out of 5. Smooth, not too bitter, with a hint of sweetness to it. Smithwicks is an easy drink that goes down easy. A sweeter red than the one's I am used to.


Oscar: 3.5 out 5. An interesting red. Usually red ales have a stronger nutty taste to me, but this one was light and sweet. It was an interesting change. It felt easier to drink than a regular red. I enjoyed it a lot.